Forums closed, discord our new home! Read more... ×
Heroes & Generals
hchris

Lower powered/alternative scopes

hchris    240

There have been quite a few mentions by RETO about alternative  (lower powered or otherwise weaker) scopes for regular infantry weapons which would make the Recon scopes "special".

What exactly is the intention here, what exactly are you looking into?

I am an optics expert with 20 years of research experience and I could help you out with research in this regard if you told us in what direction this should go.

From my first thoughts this will not be as easy as some think as there are not a lot of historical options available for the current nations and weapons ingame which are that much lower powered or worse as the ones ingame. So has there been any serious thoughts put into this yet?

@Reto.Christiano

Edited

Akinaba    462

I myself thought if maybe having such topic, but instead of talking solemnly about low-powered scopes I'd suggest to talk about all possible infantry scopes, scope mounts and reticles.

So my suggest would be to have this topic to some scopes as follows:

1. Scope name/names

2. Scope rail/mount type(s)

3. Historical note

4. Popularity/production

5. Magnification

6. Field of view (FOW)

7. Reticle(s)

Edited

What we would like is some low powered scope for infantry, and higher powered scopes for recons.

The German ZF41 fits the role as an infantry scope perfectly (both in terms of game design, and historically), but finding something similar for the other factions is a bit difficult.

I've been snooping around a bit, but most of those I've found that had potential are either extremely rare or have very little information about them.

One scope I'm particularly interested in (also largely by personal interest) is this one:

mTnchYS.jpg